South Pacific

931 Montauk Highway
Oakdale, New York 11769
6312182810

www.cmpac.com

Although well known for its extraordinary score — the songs include “Some Enchanted Evening”, “Younger Than Springtime”, “Bali Ha’i”, “There Is Nothin’ Like A Dame”, and “A Wonderful Guy” – South Pacific is also a deeply felt drama

Set in an island paradise during World War II, two parallel love stories are threatened by the dangers of prejudice and war. Nellie, a spunky nurse from Arkansas, falls in love with a mature French planter, Emile. Nellie learns that the mother of his children was an island native and, unable to turn her back on the prejudices with which she was raised, refuses Emile’s proposal of marriage. Meanwhile, the strapping Lt. Joe Cable denies himself the fulfillment of a future with an innocent Tonkinese girl with whom he’s fallen in love out of the same fears that haunt Nellie. When Emile is recruited to accompany Joe on a dangerous mission that claims Joe’s life, Nellie realizes that life is too short not to seize her own chance for happiness, thus confronting and conquering her prejudices.

Saturday, August 1 8:00pm
Sunday, August 2 2:00pm
Friday, August 7 8:00pm
Saturday, August 8 8:00pm
Sunday, August 9 2:00pm
Wednesday, August 12 2:00pm
Friday, August 14 9:00pm
Saturday, August 15 8:00pm
Sunday, August 16 2:00pm
Wednesday, August 19 7:30pm
Friday, August 21 8:00pm
Saturday, August 22 8:00pm
Sunday, August 23 2:00pm